Wave Estate Bio Picture

Wave Estate in its present incarnation was formed in September 1995 with the addition of drummer Brian Dameron to the band formed by guitarist Bill Pitts and vocalist/bassist Don Mills in the late spring of 1993. Bill had been looking to get a new band together since the breakup of Safety In Numbers which had just started to create some buzz in the Chicago music scene in the early '90s. Though it had generated interest by Arista and A&M records this wasn't enough to keep that band together. After a few years, his hopes of putting together a new band seemed to fade after countless auditions and dead-end projects yielded nothing of value. Things changed in the spring of 1993 when Don met Bill after replying to an ad that Bill had placed on the bulletin board of a local music store. They teamed up with a drummer Don knew named Scott Luce and formed Wave Estate.

Scott Luce with the band
Early Wave Estate with Scott Luce

They soon put together a repertoire of cover tunes ranging from the current '90s alternative groups like Pearl Jam and Smashing Pumpkins, to the classic rock of the Doors and Led Zeppelin and they performed at many of the clubs in the northwest suburbs of Chicago.

In early 1995 Scott left the group after an injured back made it difficult to play. During this time a couple of drummers helped fill the void left by Scott until a new permanent member could be found. In the summer of 1995 a childhood friend of Bill's recommended Brian Dameron. He came out to audition in September and soon became the bands new drummer.

With the addition of Brian the band's focus began to change from covers to originals. In the last half of 1996 the band decided to stop performing at suburban clubs and concentrate on writing and recording their own music.

During the early part of 1997 the band recorded demos at SoundScapes Recording to begin the process of perfecting the songs they had been working on. In late Spring the band once again began performing to test the ideas in a live setting and to get back out in the public eye.

In the last part of 1998, the band began assembling the songs they would record for their first CD. Once the pre-production was over, the band began recording the tracks which were completed in fall of 1999. The final mixing and mastering took place in the closing weeks of the 20th Century.

They are currently back performing at many of the clubs in the Chicago area supporting their new self-titled CD which was released on February 12, 2000 at the Rockhouse Grill in Rolling Meadows. The CD features eleven original songs which are:

  1. So Bizarre
  2. Bright Lights
  3. Blanket the Faith
  4. October
  5. Temptations of Life
  6. High On You
  7. Shootin'
  8. Think of Me Now
  9. I'll Never Know
  10. Over Before the Start
  11. Miles Away

Last Modified: 8:29 PM 2/17/2000
Copyright © 1997-2000 by Bill Pitts